新的公共负担规则 – 贫困线250% & 申请政府福利

06 3月 2020

国土安全部最近发布了一项新的公共负担政策,我们的客户一直在询问该规则,因此我们在此简要介绍一下。

根据USCIS的定义,“公共负担”是指可能会成为以下人员的人:

…主要依靠政府维持生计,主要指以政府救济金为主要经济来源或长期使用政府救助来维持生存

换句话说,公共负担是指无法自己提供经济来源并需要政府福利救济的人。 可能会成为公共负担的人不符合移民美国的资格,也没有资格获得永久居民卡。 多年以来这一直有这样的规则。

新固定中有两项因素受大众关注。

要素1-申请人使用某些公共利益因

现在,任何打算调整身份并在美国使用了任何公共福利的非移民身份的移民申请人都将被拒签。新规定中特别之处了外国人,而非美国公民方。也就说规定中说的不能接收政府福利是指外国公民方。

新规则于2019年10月15日生效,其中指出的福利包括以下福利:

  • 任何用于维持收入的联邦,州,地方或部落的现金援助
  • 补充保障收入(SSI)
  • 贫困家庭临时援助(TANF)
  • 联邦,州或地方用于维持收入的现金福利计划(在州范围内通常称为“一般援助”,但可能在不同的州叫其他名字)
  • 营养补充援助计划(SNAP,或以前称为“食品券”)
  • 第8节“住房选择券计划”下的住房援助
  • 第八节基于项目的租金援助(包括适度的修复)
  • 根据《美国1937年住房法》第9条第42条的住房援助, 1437及以后
  • 联邦资助的医疗补助(某些除外)

通常,非移民获得任一其中的福利是很罕见的情况。

要素2-贫困线的250%(安全区…但不是“一定要求”)

美国公民方申请人的收入需达到贫困线的125%是移民局对于移民申请担保方一直以来的要求。而最新的贫困线250%的要求不是硬性的,也就是说并不是达不到250%就会无法申请。新规则中明确指出的是,收入达不到贫困线250%的申请会受到更严格的审查。申请中的其他因素也会被更详细的查看从而成为被拒签的因素。

也就是说贫困线的125%仍然是移民局接受申请的最低要求,但介于125%和250%之间的申请回受到更严格的审查从而增加了拒签率。申请介于这两个数字之间的需要提供更多的经济担保信息。例如,人口数为4的家庭需要至少达到年收入$64,374 才能达到“安全区”。这是之前无法预料的。因为政策很新,所以我们也不清楚更严格的审查具体以为这什么。在收到更多的RFE或者拒签信后我们会更新具体内容。

查看新的收入要求,请点击这里

如有疑问,请电话咨询。

声明:此文章内容是文章发布时我们所知的最准确的内容。移民类的信息经常变化,旧的信息随着时间变化会很快失效,这包括移民程序、时间、价格等。为了存储文档,即便内容已经过时,我们也会保留这些文章。所以,参考以上内容时请注意文章的时效性。RapidVisa不是律师事务所,以上内容不属于法律建议。以上内容可免费阅读,但仅供参考。如任何内容与政府官方网站发布的内容有出入,请以官方网站发布的内容为准。

留言

博客分类

    博客档案

    Blog Archives

    n
    ×

New Public Charge Rule – 250% Poverty Level & Means Tested Benefits

17 Sep 2019

Homeland Security recently issued a new public charge rule that our customers have been asking about, so we wanted to briefly go over this.

A “Public Charge”, as defined by the USCIS, is a person who is likely to become:

…primarily dependent on the government for subsistence, as demonstrated by either the receipt of public cash assistance for income maintenance or institutionalization for long-term care at government expense.

In other words, a public charge is a person who cannot support themselves financially and depends on certain welfare benefits. People who are likely to become a public charge are not admissible to the U.S. and are not eligible to receive a permanent resident card. This has been the rule for many years.

There are 2 major factors that concern our customers about this new rule.

Factor 1 – Use of Certain Public Benefits By the Applicant

Now, any non-immigrant alien who is intending to adjust status and has used any public benefits in the USA, they would be denied a visa. The language of the new rule specifically mentions the alien, and not the US citizen sponsor. In this case, the public benefits must have been received directly by the applicant for the applicant’s own benefit.

The new rule, which goes into effect on October 15, 2019, mentions the following benefits considered:

  • Any federal, state, local, or tribal cash assistance for income maintenance
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
  • Federal, state or local cash benefit programs for income maintenance (often called “General Assistance” in the state context, but which may exist under other names)
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, or formerly called “Food Stamps”)
  • Section 8 Housing Assistance under the Housing Choice Voucher Program
  • Section 8 Project-Based Rental Assistance (including Moderate Rehabilitation)
  • Public Housing under section 9 the Housing Act of 1937, 42 U.S.C. 1437 et seq.
  • Federally funded Medicaid (with certain exclusions)

In general, it’s fairly uncommon for a non-immigrant to receive any of these benefits.

Factor 2 – 250% of Poverty Line (Safe Zone… But Not Necessarily a “Requirement”)

The sponsor is required to meet at least 125% of the poverty threshold. This has been the rule and is not changing, per se. What is changing is that they are setting the bar higher by explicitly stating that if your income is below 250% of the poverty threshold, your case will receive more scrutiny, and may be, depending on other factors of your case, cause for a denial.

So while the minimum income is still only 125%, all cases between 125 and 250% will receive more scrutiny and perhaps increasing denials. Sponsors making less than 250% of the poverty guidelines are advised to provide as much information about their finances as possible. So a family of 4 would need to make at least $64,374 to be in the “safe zone” of income. This is unprecedented and we understand everyone’s concern. We don’t know how much scrutiny applicants can expect to receive in that grey area between 125 and 250%, which is the most concerning aspect of this, and we won’t know until we start seeing RFEs and denials come in after it goes into effect.

To find out the income requirement for your case, go here.

The best thing you can possibly do is file asap. Give us a call right away to get started.

Disclaimer: The contents of this post were accurate to the best of our knowledge at the time of publishing. Immigration is constantly changing, and old information often becomes outdated, including procedures, timelines, prices, and more. Take note of the publish date. For archival purposes, these posts will remain published, even if new information renders them obsolete. Do not make important life decisions based on this content. No part of this post should be considered legal advice, as RapidVisa is not a law firm. This content is provided free of charge for informational purposes only. If anything herein conflicts with an official government website, the official government website shall prevail.

Leave a comment

Blog Categories

Blog Archives

Blog Archives

a-ratingCustomer Reviewsnevada-state-seal

X