办理绿卡的常见问题

“RapidVisa办理的绿卡申请成功案例”

点我.

“申请未婚妻签证时体检过,申请绿卡还需要重新体检吗?”

如果你在申请未婚妻签证时已经做过体检并符合以下的情况,那么当你申请绿卡时,不需要重新接受体检。

  • 在体检结果过期前(一年)申请绿卡
  • 体检结果没有显示A类症状
  • 如果你有A类症状,但你获得了豁免权且符合豁免权的条款规定

即使移民局没有要求你重新参加体检,你仍然需要完成新的疫苗要求。如果之前海外的体检中没有提供完整的疫苗记录(DS 3025),你需要在美国移民局指定的医疗机构重新办理疫苗记录。在这种情况下,您需要提交I-693表(在由医生密封的信封中)的第1部分,关于您的信息,第2部分,疫苗接种图和第5部分民事外科医生的认证。更多详细信息,请参阅表I-693的说明。

“哪些人不可以申请绿卡?”

你或许无法转换你的非移民类身份到移民身份如果你属于一下几个类别中的任意一个:

  • 船舶或国际航班乘务人员(D类非移民签证)
  • 过境签 (C类非移民签证)
  • 没有签证的情况下过境美国 (TWOV)
  • 用未婚妻签证进入美国但是没有与帮你申请签证的美国公民结婚
  • 恐怖主义活动或有组织犯罪的(非移民签证)知情人(及随行家属)

”提交申请后发现申请材料中有错误怎么办?”

这就是为什么你需要我们的帮助!信息理解错误?回答了错误的问题?我们的软件会确保你表格填写的正确度。如果你发现任何信息填写错误,或漏填了任何信息,只需登陆到你的账号,改正错误的信息然后重新打印表格。我们没有打印次数的限制,你可以想打印几次就打印几次,想改几次就改几次。我们不会额外收费。

“我符合申请绿卡的条件吗?”

如果你达到了申请K1未婚妻签证的所有条件,并在来美国后的90天内与帮你申请签证的美国公民结婚,那么你基本上已经符合了申请身份转换(绿卡)的条件了。如果你是通过K-3签证来美国,那么你的申请基本上已经可以通过了。但要注意的事,申请绿卡的财产要求要比未婚妻签证的要求高。绿卡申请的财产担保从贫困线的100%提高到了贫困线的125%,唯一的特例是现役军人。更多信息,详见绿卡的申请要求

“艾滋病人可以申请绿卡吗?”

可以的,艾滋病在2010年1月4号已从不可接受条件中被移除。签证体检中也不会测试艾滋病。但申请人仍需在DS-160表格, DS-230 表格和DS-156表格中如实填写是否有艾滋病。只是被感染的申请人可回答No。

“子女收到的绿卡也会是临时绿卡吗?”

是的,如果主要申请人的绿卡是临时绿卡,那么子女也会收到同样的临时绿卡。

“什么是解除条件?”

解除条件是那些获得两年临时绿卡的人,在绿卡到期前90天,需要办理的获得永久绿卡的申请。这里的条件是指,临时绿卡是有条件的绿卡。在满足结婚两年的条件后,可申请永久绿卡。

换一种说法就是,除非你申请绿卡时已经结婚两年以上,大部分申请人的绿卡都是临时绿卡。只有在满足结婚两年以上的前提下,可以申请永久绿卡。

这是移民局另一种测试你婚姻真实性的方法。

“我的绿卡的有效期是多久?”

如果你通过K-1未婚妻签证或K-3配偶签证申请绿卡,但是结婚未满两年。这种情况下你属于有条件居民,你将获得两年有效期的临时绿卡。在临时绿卡到期前需解除条件,申请永久绿卡。永久绿卡的有效期是10年并且可续签。除非你有非法行为致使你的绿卡被撤销,否则你的绿卡永远不会过期。

如果你在申请配偶签证时已经结婚超过两年,你可以直接获得10年的永久绿卡,省去了解除条件的步骤。

未婚妻签证或配偶签证的申请人,在获得绿卡后的3年都可以申请加入美国国籍。

“我的绿卡申请被拒绝了,我可以申述吗?”

可以的,拒签信上会告诉你如何申诉。除非另有说明,你可以通过表格I-290B提交申诉 。通常被拒签后的33天内你可提交申述到移民局。申诉申请必须送到受理你被拒签的申请的办公室。所有申述都会在华盛顿处理。

“绿卡申请表I-485是由美国公民填写还是移民申请者填的?”

是移民的人要填的表格。美国公民赞助人要填写I-864财产担保表格。

“拿到绿卡后,可以出国吗?”

可以。但如果你打算在国外停留一年以上,需要申请再入境许可证。

“申请绿卡需要多久?”

申请绿卡的时间因人而异。目前来说,申请绿卡的平均时间是4-6个月。

“办理绿卡申请需要多久?”

通过我们精简的服务流程,你可以在一个小时内完成基础信息的填写。但是,很多人会在一些细小的问题上花费很多的时间。比如,你未婚妻父母的生日,地址等。使用RapidVisa的服务,你可以先回答所以你知道的问题,保存, 然后了解其他问题的答案后随时回来继续填写。

”我可以用旅游签证去美国,结婚然后申请绿卡吗?”

用旅游签证却以结婚为目的进入美国结婚并申请绿卡属于签证欺诈。因为你在访问目的上撒谎了。移民局发现后可致遣返并禁止以后进入美国。举一个例子来说明这件事的严重性。以一位被移民局发现以旅游签证来美国结婚的菲律宾女士的裁决为例,她不但在初次访美时无法通过海关遭遣返,当第二次她用本该使用的未婚妻签证的方式申请来到美国时仍遭拒签。原因是,有了第一次她在签证目的上撒谎后,移民局有理由怀疑她这次签证意图的真实性。她之后进行的申诉也同样被驳回并且她现在已经被禁止进入美国。

注意,这并不是说你和一个用旅游签证进入美国人结婚就是违法的。她可以用她的旅游签证进入美国,但是结婚后她必须在她旅游签证规定的期限内离开美国。回国后可以再申请配偶签证。结婚不是违法的,移民局所审查的违法是她留在美国的意图。就是说,用旅游签证以纯旅游的意图来美国,中途中遇到了结婚的人,这时候结婚并不能说明你的旅游的意图是假的。但是你一定要提供足够的证据说服移民官,你一开始进入美国的目的不是结婚。

“我的护照可以免签进入美国,我可以在美国结婚申请绿卡吗?”

如果你的护照可以免签进入美国,你可以在允许的停留时间(90天)内在美国结婚,但无法申请绿卡。要申请绿卡,还需要返回到自己的国家然后申请配偶签证。

下面是一则于2010年5月14号刊登在美国时代周刊上的文章。文章记录了一位免签进入美国结婚并留在美国申请绿卡的案例。这位男士被移民局关押并最后遣返。

男士试图申请绿卡却遭关押 

尽管如此,还是有很多人成功的免签进入美国,结婚并申请到绿卡。这里的区别就是最初进入美国意图。如果你一开始免签入境的意图就是结婚然后申请绿卡,这就涉及到签证欺诈。但如果你一开始进入美国的意图只是访问却在中途中突然有了结婚的意愿,这样的意图就不是违法的。

“关于翻译文件”

很多移民律师或其他中介在销售时的卖点都是翻译,他们不想让你知道的是移民局规定的中华人民共和国的申请人提供的非英文材料只可以由公证局提供。翻译公司提供的翻译文件是不被认证的。所以如果你在申请美国签证,不要浪费钱在翻译公司,请直接带你需要翻译的文件到公正局公正并翻译。

“我们在哪里结婚重要吗??”

只要能拿到法定结婚证书,在哪里结婚并不重要。重要的是,如果你是通过K-1未婚妻签证来美国的,一定要在进入美国后的90天内结婚。另外,你只可以和帮助你申请未婚妻签证的人结婚。

“用未婚妻签证进入美国,却和其他人结婚了,还可以申请绿卡吗?”

不可以,因为你没有和赞助你来美国的人结婚。如果你属于这种情况,你需要先离开美国然后让你的丈夫为你申请K-3或CR-1配偶签证重新来美国。

“一定要在来美国后的90天内申请绿卡吗?”

不需要。针对未婚妻签证的90天规定是指,你必须在来美国后的90天结婚。结婚后,什么时候申请绿卡,你可以根据自己的情况而定。.移民局没有明确的规定什么时候必须申请绿卡,但很多人都会在结婚后尽可能马上申请。原因是,在拿到绿卡或工卡(EAD)前,你无法合法工作。其次,申请未婚妻签证时的体检结果的有效期是12个月,如果你在体检过期后申请绿卡还需要重新体检。最后,未婚妻签证属于单次签证,在拿到绿卡或旅游许可之前,如果回国的话,需要重新申请美国签证。

也有很多人会等几个月后再申请绿卡,因为绿卡申请的费用并不低。

“子女可以和我在一张申请表中一同申请吗?”

不可以。和未婚妻签证不同的是,申请绿卡时,每个人都需要提交单独的申请。也就说,子女需提交他们自己的I-485表格和证明文件。

“申请绿卡需要面试吗?”

大部分申请人申请绿卡都需要参加面试,除了K-1或K-3未婚妻签证。未婚妻签证的申请人偶尔也会被要求参加面试。移民局会通知你是否需要参加面试。

“如果我的申请被拒,申请费会被退回来吗?”

不会,申请费是付给移民局审理你的申请的费用。也就说,你是在付费让移民局审理你的文件,而不是付费让移民局保证你的申请会通过。所以,无论你的申请是否通过,申请费都不会被退回。

“办理绿卡需要律师吗?”

基本是不需要的,但是也要看你的实际情况。申请绿卡属于行政程序而不是法律程序。像申请驾照一样,只是一个向政府申请文件的程序。就算是律师也没有任何办理程序的捷径,如果你的条件都符合申请要求,自己申请或请律师的效果是一样的。反之,如果你不符合申请条件,律师也无法帮你。申请不需要去法院也没有法官,只不过是邮寄一些表格和材料到移民局。但律师很擅长复杂的官僚程序,所以在电脑普及之前,大部分人觉得自己无法处理大量的申请表而聘请律师。这也是为什么,当人们听到移民时首先就会想到律师。

然而,法学院并没有任何关于签证申请的学科或课程。那些懂得如何办理绿卡的律师,和其他人一样,通过自学的方式学习到如何申请绿卡。而RapidVisa只处理移民签证,所以我们成功申请的移民签证和绿卡要比律师多的多。也就是说,跟大部分律师比,我们其实拥有更多的真实经验。但是我们无法给你法律顾问或在及特殊情况下代理你出席移民局。

RapidVisa的软件简化了申请程序,任何人都可以像移民律师一样精确的填写所有表格。如果你请律师办理,他基本上会让他的律师助理来准备你的表格,只是在表格送回给你之前检查一遍。然而律师助理准备的表格也是需要你先填写的。既然怎样你都是要填写那些表格的,为什么不直接填写到RapidVisa的系统里面,而省下那笔律师费呢?绿卡申请的成功率很高,大部分人是不需要律师的。如果你符合所有申请条件,没有在申请表上出错,你基本不会被拒绝。但请注意,RapidVisa不提供法律服务我们不提供任何形式的法律建议。

如果你认为你需要法律建议,请咨询律师。

“移民局什么时候会兑现我的支票?”

移民局接受你文件时就会兑现你的支票。如果申请有任何问题,移民局会把你的文件和未兑现的支票一起退回给你。

如果移民局接受了你的申请材料,移民局会在收到你申请的24小时之内,扫描然后电子存储你的申请费支票。支票在被兑现后会销毁,不会返还给申请人。

“子女也必须参加面试吗?”

是的,特别小的孩子也许会准许不必参加面试,但如果他们也要申请绿卡的话,你也要带他们参加面试。如果子女不需要申请绿卡,你不必带他们参加面试。

“新生儿的护照照片需要增开眼睛吗?”

需要

“你会帮助我们面试吗??”

我们会回答你任何关于绿卡面试的问题,也会提供一些面试技巧。但是所有那些保证你面试通过的中介都不是可靠的。移民局曾说过那些通过同样的中介服务来面试的申请人通常都在背着一样的答案。这样背书式的回答会降低你的信誉度并使签证官怀疑你其他回答的可信度。

*这里指的是面签的过程,而不是绿卡面试的。但是背后逻辑和结论是一样的。

Adjustment of Status F.A.Q.

Here.
If you received a medical examination prior to admission as a K nonimmigrant, then you are not required to have another medical examination at time of adjustment as long as:

*Your Form I-485 is filed within 1 year of your overseas medical examination
*The medical examination did not reveal a Class A medical condition
*If you did have a Class A medical condition, you received a waiver of inadmissibility and you have complied with the terms and conditions of the waiver

Even if a new medical examination is not required, you still must show proof that you have complied with the vaccination requirements. If the vaccination record (DS 3025) was not properly completed and included as part of the original, overseas medical examination report, you will have to have the vaccination report completed by a designated civil surgeon. In this case, you are required to submit Part 1, Information About You, Part 2, the vaccination chart, and Part 5, the Civil Surgeon’s Certification, of Form I-693 (in an envelop sealed by the civil surgeon). Please see the instructions for Form I-693 for further information.
You may not apply to change your nonimmigrant status if you were admitted to the United States in the following categories:

*Crew member (D nonimmigrant visa)
*In transit through the United States (C nonimmigrant visa)
*In transit through the United States without a visa (TWOV)
*Fiancé of a U.S. citizen or dependent of a fiancé if you did not marry the person who petitioned you
*Informant (and accompanying family) on terrorism or organized crime (S nonimmigrant visa)

Reference USCIS
This is were RapidVisa really shines! Errors or typos are no problem. Our program catches most mistakes as you make them. However, if you do find you have made a mistake or left something out all you do is correct the information and reprint your package. You can change, print and reprint your package as many times as you like all for the same low price. And of course once you are happy with your information we will review it to make sure it is perfect before mailing.
If you met the requirements for a K-1 Visa and you married THE SAME PERSON who petitioned you within 90 days of your arrival, you will almost certainly be granted an Adjustment of Status (green card). If you arrived on a K-3 Visa you likewise will almost certainly be approved. However, do note that the financial requirements for the AOS are higher than for the K visas. Instead of making 100% of the poverty line income for your household, an AOS sponsor must make 125% of the poverty level. There is an exception for Active Duty Military persons that lets them make just 100% of the poverty level for the AOS.
Yes. HIV was removed as an inadmissible condition on January 4, 2010. HIV testing is no longer required in the medical exam. Although forms DS-160, DS-230 and DS-156 still ask about HIV, a person who is infected can legally answer “NO” to this question.
Yes, if the primary immigrant receives a conditional green card any children will also receive a conditional green card (Conditional Residency).
Removal of Conditions: You will file to remove the conditions on your fiance’s residence in the 90 day period before the second anniversary of the date he/she obtained conditional residency. Once the conditions are removed, a 10 year green card is issued.

In other words, your first green card is only good for two years unless you were already married for two or more years when you received your K-3 visa.

This process is designed to give the USCIS another look at your marriage at the two year mark just to make sure it is legitimate.
If you arrived on a K-1 Visa, or you arrived on a K-3 Visa but you have been married less than two years, you will be termed a Conditional Resident and will receive a green card good for two years. Before that card expires you must apply to lift the conditions, and if approved, and then you will receive a green card good for 10 years. There is no longer a green card that never expires. However, you can renew your 10 year green card indefinitely as long as it is not revoked for committing certain crimes.

If you were married at least two years immediately before you were issued your K-3 visa, you will be issued a 10 year green card and will not have to go through the Removal of Conditions process.

As a K-1 or K-3 immigrant, you can apply for U.S. citizenship once you have held a green card for a total of 3 years.
Yes. The denial letter you received will tell you how to appeal. Unless otherwise instructed, you will file your appeal on USCIS Form I-290B. You will normally have 33 days from the time you receive your denial to get your appeal to the USCIS. The appeal must be sent to the same office that denied your petition. Appeals are handled by the Administrative Appeals Unit in Washington, DC.
The Adjustment of Status is completed by the intending immigrant. However, you will need a signed Form I-864 from your sponsor.
Yes. If you intend to stay out of the U.S. for more than a year you will need a reentry permit.
The time varies. Currently, you can expect to have your green card within 4-6 months.
Using our streamlined process, you could easily complete the entire application in about an hour. However, most people find they need to do a little research to find information like your fiance’s mother’s date of birth. With RapidVisa, you can answer the questions you know and then save your work and come back later when you have the missing information.
Yes and No.

Entering the United States on a tourist visa with the intent of staying is visa fraud. This can and often does lead to deportation and a bar from reentering the United States. For an example of how this can go terribly wrong, read the decision of the USCIS Administrative Appeals Office below. In this case, a Philippine woman married an American and tried to enter the Untied States on a tourist visa. Not only was she unsuccessful in staying in the U.S., later when she tried to enter the U.S. the legal way, they denied her because of her previous attempt to misuse the tourist visa. She appealed and her appeal was denied. She is now barred from entering the United States.

Note however, that your fiance can come here on a tourist visa and marry you. But she will have to leave before her tourist visa expires and apply for a spousal visa from outside the United States. It is the intent to stay that is illegal, not the marriage. A person who enters the U.S. with no intent to get married and stay who, while visiting, spontaneously decides to marry and attempt to stay may be able to do so. However, you must convince the government that this was not your intent all along.
Yes and No.
A person admitted under the Visa Waiver Program cannot get an extension of the 90 day visit. You can marry your fiance while she is in the U.S., but she will need to return to her country before her visa expires. You can then file for a Spousal Visa.

Here is an article from the New York Times from May 14, 2010, discussing a man who was jailed and faces deportation for entering the U.S. on the visa waiver program and trying to apply for a green card.

Man Jailed when Attempting to Adjust Status from Tourist Visa

However, many people have successfully came to the U.S. on the Visa Waiver Program and adjusted their status to permanent resident after marriage to a U.S. citizen. The key point is intent. If you intend to come on the VWP and try to get a green card through marriage, you have probably committed visa fraud since your implied intent was to just visit. But a person who intends to visit but at some point after arrival decides to marry an stay may be allowed to do so.
One of the many ways immigration attorneys and others try to gouge you is by selling you translations. What they don’t want you to know is that anybody can translate your documents for you, including you, your spouse, your fiance or any random stranger. All the USCIS requires is that whoever translates the documents writes the following on the bottom of the translation:

“I certify that I am competent to translate (language name here) to English, and that this is a complete and correct translation.”

They then sign their name to the translation. There is actually no such thing as a certified translation service recognized by the USCIS. You should never pay for a translation.
It does not matter where you get married as long as you have a legal marriage certificate. However, if you came to the U.S. on a K-1 Fiance Visa you must get married within 90 days of your arrival in the United States. Additionally, you must marry the person who sponsored you for the K-1 visa.
You can’t adjust your status from a K-1 visa if you didn’t marry ther sponsor named on your I-129F. If this is your situation you will need to leave the U.S. and have your new husband petition for your return on a K-3 or CR1 visa.
No. You must get married within 90 days of your arrival (if you came on a K-1) but you do not have to file your AOS witin 90 days. The USCIS doesn’t set a time limit for you to file your AOS. However, there are many good reasons to file your AOS as soon as possible. You will not be able to work until you have your green card or Employment Authorization Document (EAD). Additionally, the medical exam you had for your K visa will expire in 12 months. If you don’t file your AOS before the medical expires you will need to have another medical exam. If you arrived on a K-1 visa you will not be able to get back into the U.S. should you leave the country for some reason until you have either your green card or the Advance Parole document.

Many people wait several months after their entry to file the AOS simply because it is so expensive.
No. Unlike the K-1 and K-3 visas, with the Adjustment of Status each person needs their own petition. This means all children need a separate From I-485 and supporting documents.
Most people do not get interviewed for the K-1 or K-3 adjustment of status. Everyone else will likely have an interview. The USCIS will notify you if you will be interviewed.
No. The USCIS says your fees pay for the process, which is completed even if you are not granted a green card. In other words, you are paying to have them look at your case, not to approve your green card.
Probably not. Obtaining an Adjustment of Status is an administrative process, not a legal process. This is simply a benefit request from the government, kind of like getting a driver’s license. No attorney has any type of special access to the process or can in any way give you an advantage. You will either qualify or you will not. There is no judge or court involved, just a bunch of forms you send to a government office (USCIS). An attorney can’t change the facts of your case. However, attorneys are good at sorting out complicated bureaucratic processes. In the days before computers many people didn’t feel they could handle the paperwork alone and would turn to an attorney.

Law schools do not teach anything about preparing visa petitions. If a lawyer knows how to do an Adjustment of Status, he learned it on his own like anybody else. Because RapidVisa specializes in these processes we do many more petitions than any lawyer could ever do. This means we have more real-world, current experience with the process than most lawyers. But we can’t give you legal advice or represent you before the USCIS in the extremely unlikely case that representation is necessary.

RapidVisa has taken the complexity out of the process so that anybody can complete the forms with the same accuracy as the best immigration attorney. Even if you did hire an attorney, he would almost certainly have his paralegal or clerk prepare the forms and in the best case, he would look them over before sending them back to you. Before the paralegal could complete the forms, she would have you provide all the answers. So if you are going to provide all the answers anyway, why not just type them into RapidVisa and skip the lawyer (and his fees)? Nearly all Adjustment of Status applications are approved and most people don’t use a lawyer. Just get the forms right and if you qualify, you can’t be denied. But do please note that RapidVisa is not a legal service and we do not provide legal advice of any kind.

If you feel you need legal advice you should contact an attorney.
Your check will be cashed when they accept your petition. If there is something wrong with your initial submission they will return your entire package to you along with the uncashed check.

If your petition is accepted, the USCIS will scan your check and electronically withdraw the fee from your account within 24 hours of receipt. They will destroy the original check and therefore it will not come back to you.
Yes. They may choose not to interview very young children but you should bring them anyway if they are also doing an Adjustment of Status. If the children are not doing an Adjustment of Status you should not bring them.
Yes
We will answer any questions you have about the interview and give you some general tips. However, you should be very wary about any service that offers to coach you on the interview process. According to the U.S. Department of State, “The end result is that every client from a particular consultant sounds exactly like one another. This diminishes credibility among those who memorize the ‘correct’ answers and cannot hold free-flowing conversations with the visa officers.”

*This refers directly to the Visa process, not the AOS process. However, the logic and conclusion is the same.