我可以用旅游签证到美国结婚吗?

移民局并不喜欢灰色地带

Couple getting married通过旅游签证,免签政策 (VWP)来美国和美国公民结婚并不是违法的。结婚后调整身份申请绿卡同样也是合法的。但是,旅游签证或免签政策的情况是你承诺你只会在以旅游目的为前提下使用这种签证而不是用来移民的。

你的意图很重要

使用旅游签证的意图必须是在规定时间内的临时访问。如果你想在这段时间内结婚并在规定的停留时间到期前回国,这样的情况有可能还是合法的。但无论如何,旅游签证不应该用在以进入美国结婚并留在美国申请绿卡的意图。这时候,申请 K-1 未婚妻签证 可避免以上提到的所有问题,也是外国人来美国结婚的最适当途径。

“…a travel visa should not be used with the intention of entering the United States to marry, stay permanently and adjust status.”

违规的潜在后果很严重

以来美国结婚并居留在美国为意图却用非移民类签证进入美国可导致严重的后果。在申请签证或进入美国时对前往美国的原因撒谎属于移民欺诈,移民局对这种欺诈有严重的惩罚。惩罚包括限制申请人申请移民福利,无法申请绿卡,甚至可处罚10,000美金的罚款或长达5年的监禁。

美国国务院(DOS)和美国移民局(USCIS)认为,嫁给美国公民的意向等同于移民意向。

如果你的未婚妻用旅游签证进入美国,并且没有交代她真正来美国的意图是和你结婚,这种情况下属于移民欺诈。移民局可遣返申请人并禁止她再次来到美国,哪怕之后你们在其他国家已经结婚。

旅游签证只能用来旅游

stereotypical tourist
旅游签证是给那些想要来美国观光游览的人,而不是给那些要来结婚的人的。

用旅游签证进入美国结婚的申请人在申请绿卡时必须证明他们一开始进入美国时的意图只是旅游然后就回国。在进入美国时还没有任何结婚或移民的打算。

那最安全的方式是什么?

最安全的方式就是申请K1未婚妻签证或是在未婚妻所在国结婚然后申请CR-1 配偶签证。如果你已经隐瞒了你的结婚意图并成功的申请到了美国的旅游签证,你应该从新考虑你的决定。

免责声明: 本文中关于美国和美国国务院法律要求的信息仅供一般信息使用。涉及具体美国法律解释的问题应向律师和/或政府官员咨询。

参考: 美国移民局官网 和美国国务院官网



Disclaimer: The information herein is not intended as legal advice and is provided for general information only.Questions involving interpretation of specific U.S. laws should be addressed to an attorney and/or government officials.

Get free email updates when we post!

 

a-ratingCustomer Reviewsnevada-state-sealinc

X

Can I Use a Tourist Visa to Get Married in the US?

23 Oct 2014

 

Gray areas aren’t generally the government’s forte.

Couple getting marriedIt is legal to enter the U.S. on a tourist visa, travel visa or the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) and get married to a U.S. citizen.  It is also legal to adjust your status after getting married. However, the condition of a tourist visa, travel visa and the VWP is a sworn promise that the person using this visa only plans to visit the United States and not immigrate here.

Intent is what really matters.

The intention of a tourist or travel visa is a temporary visit for a specified amount of time. If you want to get married during your visit then return home before your visa expires that may be legal, but a travel visa should not be used with the intention of entering the United States to marry, stay permanently and adjust status. Using the K-1 Fiancé(e) Visa avoids all of the problems noted above, and is the most appropriate way for a foreign fiancé(e) to come to the U.S. to marry.

“…a travel visa should not be used with the intention of entering the United States to marry, stay permanently and adjust status.”

The potential consequences of doing it wrong are serious.

There could be serious problems for someone who enters the United States on another visa with the intention of marrying or residing here. Attempting to obtain a visa or entering the United States by saying one thing when you intend another may be considered immigration fraud, for which there are serious penalties. Those penalties include restricting a person’s ability to obtain immigration benefits, including permanent residence, as well as a possible fine of up to $10,000 and imprisonment of up to 5 years.

The Department of State (DOS) and United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) assume that intent to marry a U.S. citizen is the same as intent to immigrate.

If your fiancé(e) enters the U.S. as a tourist, without disclosing that they are engaged to you and/or intend to marry you, they have committed visa fraud. If the USCIS later decides that your fiancé(e) has committed visa fraud, they could be deported and will be impossible for them to legally return to the United States, even if the two of you are married.

Tourism is kind of specific.

stereotypical tourist

Tourist visas are for people who want to sight see, not get married.

In order for someone to get married in the U.S. while visiting on a tourist or travel visa and then adjust their status to lawful permanent resident they would need to prove they came to the U.S. with the intention to travel to and visit the U.S. and return to their home country but not to get married or immigrate here.

What’s the safe way?

You can easily avoid visa and/or immigration fraud by filing for a K-1 Fiancé(e) Visa or you could get married in the home country of the foreign fiancé(e) and then apply for a CR-1 Spousal Visa. If you have secretly obtained a tourist or travel visa, with the intent to marry your fiancé(e) in the U.S. and to bypass the normal process you should rethink your decision.

Disclaimer: The information in this blog post relating to the legal requirements of the United States and U.S. Department of State is provided for general information only. Questions involving interpretation of specific U.S. laws should be addressed to an attorney and/or government officials.

Reference: USCIS and U.S. Department of State

Disclaimer: The contents of this post were accurate to the best of our knowledge at the time of publishing. Immigration is constantly changing, and old information often becomes outdated, including procedures, timelines, prices, and more. Take note of the publish date. For archival purposes, these posts will remain published, even if new information renders them obsolete. Do not make important life decisions based on this content. No part of this post should be considered legal advice, as RapidVisa is not a law firm. This content is provided free of charge for informational purposes only. If anything herein conflicts with an official government website, the official government website shall prevail.

Blog Categories

Blog Archives

Blog Archives