未婚妻签证办理过程

1. 移民局申请

美国公民申请人需邮寄 K1未婚妻签证申请材料到移民局。 申请材料包括I-129F表格,证明文件及签证申请费($535)。

2. 收到第一封通知信(NOA1)

邮寄签证材料到移民局的2-3周后,你会收到第一封通知信 (NOA1) 告诉你移民局收到了你的申请材料。这时候你什么都不需要做。

3. 收到第二封通知信 (NOA2)

邮寄出材料后4到6个月,你会收到移民局的第二封通知信,告诉你你的申请通过了,被拒绝或需要补交更多材料。如果通过了,这时候你什么都不需要做。如果被否决,这时候你有以下几种选择.。如果你收到了补交材料通知(RFE), 你则许需要 回复补交材料通知 ,邮寄移民局所要求的额外文件。

4. 国家签证中心NVC 阶段

移民局通过你的申请后,受理你申请的服务中心(Vermont服务中心或California服务中心)会递交你的档案到国家签证中心。这一步通常会发生在移民局通过你申请的2到3周内。签证中心会对你的未婚妻开展一段简单的背景调查。这时候你不会收到任何通知。如果你想要确定签证中心收到了你的文件,可以打电话或发邮件跟签证中心确认。他们的电话是603-334-0700,邮件是NVCINQUIRY@state.gov。除此之外,你这时候不需要做什么。

5. 签证中心阶段到大使馆阶段

如果你的未婚妻通过了背景调查,在4周内,签证中心会排期你的档案到领事事务局。领事事务局会把你的档案快递给你未婚妻所在地的美国大使馆。这时候你不需要做什么。

 6. 大使馆通知信

在当地大使馆收到你的档案的一周后,你的未婚妻会收到大使馆的通知信具体说明之后的体检及预约面签。面签只是对未婚妻,美国公民不需要参加面签。

 7. 收集面签文件

大使馆会说明他们需要的材料。签证申请是的材料都会被留在大使馆内。

 8. 体检

未婚妻必须参加体检。大使馆的通知信会解释如何预约体检。体检是收费的,具体的收费各个地方是不同的。美国公民这时候不需要做什么,体检费是直接付给医院的。

 9. 面签

未婚妻必须要参加面试。所有申请人必须携带护照和子女的护照(如果子女也参加面试)。 使馆的通知信里会解释如何申请面签。美国申请人不需要参加面签。一些国家的面签允许美国申请人参加,但大部分国家的美国面签是不需要美国申请人参加的。面签的申请费是265美金,在网站预约面签时付费。面签官会问到一些列问题 来测试你们的关系是否真实。

10. 签证签发

一些领事馆可在面签当天领到签证。但通常情况下,是要等到面签后一周的。可通过邮寄的方式领取签证。这时候已经可以开始预定前往美国的机票了。

11. 前往美国

未婚妻有6个月的时间可以进入美国。记得要携带美国领事馆给的信封,进入美国海关时需要上交。美国申请人不需要和未婚妻一起入关。

12. 结婚

美国申请人必须在未婚妻进入美国的90天内与其结婚。如果90天内没能完婚,未婚妻必须离开美国。90天的期限从你进入美国那天开始算起,不记得具体日期的可看海关在你的护照上盖章的日期。未婚妻签证的持有人只可以与帮她申请签证的美国公民结婚。结婚后,未婚妻可申请美国绿卡。结婚后多久申请绿卡是没有规定的,也不需要在90天内完成。但是,在获得绿卡前,未婚妻是不可以工作的。如果这期间未婚妻回国后想再次进入美国,之前的签证已失效,需重新申请签证。

有关未婚妻签证的其他事项

K1 未婚妻签证子女的签证 (K2 签证)

未婚妻签证申请人的子女在满足年龄条件的前提下可申请K2签证。子女需是未婚并不满21周岁。申请随同子女签证不需要提交另一份申请,只需在K1签证的申请表格(I-129F)中填写子女的信息即可。

持未婚妻签证在美国工作

结婚后可用I-765表格申请工作许可。递交申请后大概两个月可获得工卡,在获得工卡之前是不可以工作的。在结婚之前也是不可以工作的。

艾滋病患者申请未婚妻签证

艾滋病在2010年1月4号已从不可接受条件中被移除。艾滋病感染患者也不再需要填写I-690表格。

未婚妻签证被拒签的原因

以下情况下未婚妻签证会被马上拒签:

  • 有过严重的犯罪记录,比如犯罪中涉及到道德沦丧,贩毒或卖淫。
  • 吸毒
  • 患有除艾滋病以外的传染性疾病
  • 有危险性的身体或精神障碍
  • 有可能无法支撑自己的生活的可能
  • 有签证欺诈或其以他非法手段来美国的记录

国际婚姻中介管理法(IMBRA)

申请未婚妻签证时,你必须诚实的回答移民局你是否通过国际婚姻中介而认识你的未婚妻。国际婚姻中介是以提供国际间交友,婚恋,社交为盈利方式,收取费用的公司,企业,个人或组织。

以下的服务不被归类为国际婚姻中介:

1. 在当地法律规则允许下的非盈利文化或宗教交友平台。

2. 婚恋交友公司,包括网上的婚恋平台网站,如果他们主要的商业模式不是提供美国公民和外国公民间的婚恋交友,那么他们就不是国际婚姻中介。这些平台的收费对所有客户必须一样,提供同样的服务,不分男女,而且收费的标准也不可以根据用户的国籍而不同而不同。比如说,这些网站不可以只收美国男性公民的费用但不收国外女性的服务费。

多次申请未婚妻签证

如果你已经申请过两次或以上的未婚妻签证,再次申请新的签证时,你必须申请特殊情况豁免。如果你上次申请未婚妻签证是在两年内,要申请新的未婚妻签证时你也需要特殊情况豁免。这样的豁免要怎样申请呢?只需要写一封信解释你的特殊情况,为什么你在申请两次的情况下要再次申请,为什么在两年之内你需要申请两次未婚妻签证。尽可能的列出你的理由,签证官会考虑是否准许你的申请。

用未婚妻签证以外的方式来美国结婚 (非K1签证)

通过未婚妻以外的签证来美国 (非K1签证) 或者免签来美国 (ESTA), 确以结婚的目的进入美国。这种情况下的访问被认为移民欺诈。应尽量不以这些情况进入美国。比如,不要试图用 旅游签证来美国结婚。 触犯签证欺诈可致最高刑罚入狱5年。

如果我的未婚妻以非法的方式进入美国

如果你的未婚妻以非法的方式进入美国,你无法为她申请未婚妻签证。如果这是你的情况,你应该在离开美国前联系移民律师。

K1 Visa Process in USCIS building
Photo source.

K1 Visa Process

1. USCIS Filing

The United States citizen sponsor files the K1 visa petition with the USCIS by mailing the completed I-129F petition package along with a check to the Department of Homeland Security for $535.

2. Notice of Action 1 (NOA1)

Two to three weeks after mailing your petition, you will receive a notice of action (NOA1) in the mail indicating the USCIS has received your petition. You do nothing at this step.

3. Notice of Action 2 (NOA2)

Between 4 and 6 months after mailing your petition, you will receive a notice of action (NOA2) in the mail indicating the USCIS has approved, denied or requests additional evidence for your petition. If approved, you do nothing at this step. If you are denied, there are a few options you can take. If you receive an RFE, you need to respond to it with the evidence requested.

4. NVC Phase

The service center that handled your petition (either Vermont or California) forwards your case to the State Department’s NVC (National Visa Center). This will happen within two weeks of your approval. The NVC will run a security check on your fiance. You will not receive anything in the mail at this point. If you want to verify that the NVC has received you file, call them at 603-334-0700 or email them at NVCINQUIRY@state.gov. You do nothing at this step.

5. NVC to Embassy

Within 4 weeks, if your fiance’s security check comes back clean, your approved K1 visa petition will be routed to the Bureau of Consular Affairs. The Bureau of Consular Affairs will send your file to the U.S. Embassy in your fiance’s country via DHL. You do nothing at this step.

 6. Embassy Letter

About a week after receiving your visa petition, the U.S. Embassy (usually in the country of origin) sends the fiance a letter with instructions for scheduling the medical exam and interview. You (the U.S. citizen) do not have to attend the embassy interview.

 7. Gather Embassy Documents

The U.S. Embassy will instruct the fiance to return some of the documents immediately. Other documents will be kept until the interview.

 8. Medical Exam

The fiance must have a medical exam. The package sent to the fiance by the U.S. Embassy will explain how to schedule the medical exam. You must pay a fee for the medical exam. The fee is usually paid in the local currency and varies depending on the location. You (the U.S. citizen) do nothing at this step. This fee can’t be paid from the United States.

 9. Embassy Interview

The fiance must attend an interview at the U.S. Embassy. All applicants must bring their passport, including children of all ages. If children are joining on a K-2 visa, they must also attend the interview. The package sent to the fiance by the U.S. Embassy will explain how to schedule the interview. The U.S. citizen sponsor is not required to attend the interview. However, the sponsor is allowed and encouraged to attend in some countries while other countries will not allow the U.S. citizen to attend. The $265 embassy fee is paid directly to the embassy. A consular officer will ask a series of questions to determine the relationship is genuine.

10. Visa Issued

The alien fiance may be able to pick up the actual visa the same day. However, there will usually be a wait of up to one week. The visa will be delivered via courier. The actual K1 fiance visa is a self-adhesive decal that is placed in the beneficiary’s passport. At this point, airline tickets can be purchased for travel to the United States.

11. Travel to U.S.

The fiance has 6 months to use the visa to enter the United States. He or she will be given a package of documents by the U.S. Embassy which he or she will surrender at the Point of Entry (POE) into the United States. The sponsor does not need to travel with the beneficiary when they travel to the United States.

12. Wedding

The petitioner must marry the alien fiance within 90 days of entry into the United States. If a wedding doesn’t take place within this time, the fiance must leave the United States. The 90 day clock starts on the date you enter the United States, which is normally stamped in your passport. The K1 visa beneficiary can only marry the person who submitted the petition. Eventually the alien must file an adjustment of status petition to receive the green card. There is no deadline for filing the AOS, and it does not need to be filed within 90 days of arrival. However, the alien will not be able to work or re-enter the United States before it is filed.

Additional Items Related to the K1 Visa Process

Children of K1 Fiance Visas (K2 Visa)

The fiance’s children who are under 21 and unmarried may be eligible for a K2 nonimmigrant visa. All that is necessary to include them during the K1 visa petition process is to include their names on the I-129F.

Working in the U.S. with a K1 Fiance Visa

After your fiance arrives in the United States, he or she may apply for permission to work by filing Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization. The current average processing time for the I-765 is 3 months.

K1 Fiance Visa and HIV/AIDS

HIV is no longer a ground of inadmissibility. This rule was changed on January 4, 2010. Applicants are no longer required to file Form I-690 if HIV infected.

Disqualifying Events

A K1 fiance visa will be refused if the applicant:

  • Has committed serious criminal acts including crimes involving moral turpitude, drug trafficking, and prostitution.
  • Is addicted to drugs.
  • Has a communicable disease other than HIV.
  • Has a dangerous physical or mental disorder.
  • Is likely to become a public charge.
  • Has used fraud or other illegal means to enter the United States.

International Marriage Broker Regulation Act (IMBRA)

When applying for a K1 fiance visa, you must notify the USCIS if you meet your fiance through an international marriage broker. An international marriage broker is a corporation, partnership, business, individual or other legal entity that charges fees to provide dating, marriage, matchmaking or social referrals between U.S. citizens and foreign nationals.

The following are not considered International Marriage Brokers:

1. Matchmaking organizations of a cultural or religious nature that operate on a non-profit basis and comply with the laws of the country they are in.

2. Dating services, including online dating services, if their primary business is not to provide dating services between U.S. citizens and foreign nationals. They must also charge the same rates to men and women, offer the same services to men and women, and do not base fees or services on the individual’s country of citizenship. For example, they can’t charge U.S. men to be a member, but allow foreign women to join for free.

Multiple K1 Visa Filings

If you have filed two or more K1 visa petitions in the past, you must apply for a waiver. You will also need a waiver if you have had one K1 approved within the past two years. To request a waiver, you simply write a letter stating all available facts about your previous filings. You will state that you are requesting a waiver, and attach the letter to your new fiance visa petition.

Using a Different Type of Visa to Come to the U.S. for Marriage (not a K1 Visa)

Coming to the U.S. on a different visa (not a K1 visa) or no visa (ESTA), with the intent of getting married would usually be considered immigration fraud. This situation should be avoided. For example, you should not attempt to bring your fiance to the U.S. on a tourist visa with the intent to get married. The penalties for immigration fraud are steep and can even result in up to 5 years in prison.

K1 Visa if Fiance is in the United States Illegally

If your fiance is in the United States illegally, you will not be able to get a K1 visa. If this is your situation, you should talk to an immigration attorney before you leave the United States.

K1 Visa Process in USCIS building
Photo source.