United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

The United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is a federal agency formed after 9/11 to better protect the United States against and respond to terrorist acts and natural disasters. The department’s main responsibilities are managing border security, customs, immigration enforcement and emergency response to terrorism and natural disasters.

If you are applying for an immigration visa or green card, The United States Department of Homeland Security will be heavily involved in your immigration journey.  You might notice the following:

  • The check or money order for your filling fee is payable to “The United States Department of Homeland Security “
  • When your case has been transferred to National Visa Center (NVC) stage, you need to log in to the Consular Electronic Application Center website under the department to pay and submit your NVC documents.

DHS contains different agencies to fulfill its various functions.




United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS)

Reviews and processes initial applications for immigration and work permits

United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP)

Federal law enforcement agency responsible for border control

United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)

Federal law enforcement agency that investigates and enforces immigration law violations not limited to at the border

a-ratingCustomer Reviewsnevada-state-sealPCI_DSS_Validated