Employment-Based Immigration

  1. Resources
  2. Glossary
  3. Employment-Based Immigration

Employment-Based Immigration is one of a common method U.S. immigration law provides foreign nationals to become U.S. lawful permanent residents. There are 5 employment-based immigration categories. Certain spouses and children may accompany or follow-to-join the main immigrants.

  1. First preference (EB-1) – priority workers and persons of extraordinary ability. Include aliens with
    • Extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics;
    • Outstanding professors and researchers; or
    • Certain multinational managers and executives.
  2. Second preference (EB-2) – aliens who are members of the professions holding advanced degrees or who have exceptional ability (including requests for national interest waivers).
  3. Third preference (EB-3) – skilled workers, professionals, or other workers (unskilled workers).
  4. Fourth preference (EB-4) - Certain special immigrants
  5. Fifth preference (EB-5) - Immigrant investors for who invest invest $1.8 million or $900,000 (when the investment is made in a targeted employment area) in a new company that employs at least 10 full-time American employees.


Related Articles: